Monthly Archives: January 2013

Steve Hackett – Genesis Revisited II CD Review



I almost jumped out of my chair when I was presented a chance to review the new STEVE HACKETT CD, “Genesis Revisted II.” There are precious few bands that I hold in GODLIKE status but Genesis is one of them.

Steve has long been one of my favorite guitarists and songwriters. When I seen the track list for this, I was even more excited. Five of my very favorite Genesis tunes are included here. Continue reading


Ruinside – The Hunt CD Review

Ruinside – The Hunt
Mighty Music


1. The End (intro)
2. Shower of Accusations
3. Beware!
4. Hunters of Divine Society
5. Witch Hammer
6. Hide-And-Seek
7. Labyrinth of Silence
8. Wounded And Defeated
9. Within Hammer And Tongs
10. Beleaguered
11. T.O.R.T.U.R.E.
12. Forced Confession
13. Burst Into Flames

Continue reading

Bad Boy Eddy – Over The Top Review

Bad Boy Eddy – Over The Top
Demon Doll Records


1. Fever
2. She’s Gives Me A Feeling
3. I Don’t Want You
4. Super Sonic Freak
5. Living Lies
6. Funky Monkey
7. Rad Ruby
8. Teenage Sacrifice
9. Fly Away
10. Maker of Dreams

Continue reading

Asylum Pyre Fifty Years Later CD Review

Asylum Pyre – Fifty Years Later
Massacre Records


01 – Will you believe me?
02 – Dead in Copenhagen
03 – The Frozen Will
04 – These Trees
05 – The Herd
06 – Fisherman’s Day
07 – Against the Sand
08 – Any Hypothesis
09 – Just Before the Silence
10 – Fifty Years Later

Continue reading

Adrenechrome – Hideous Appetite CD Review

Adrenechrome – Hideous Appetites


1. Titans Fall (3:18)
2. Six Guns (6:17)
3. The Horror (5:26)
4. Hymn For The Heathens (4:17)
5. Winds of The Void (5:01)
6. Locust Wings (4:26)
7. Hobbled (4:58)

Chris Friesen – Guitar, Vox.
Tim Kehoe – Guitars,
Matt Copeland – Drums,
Mike Van Dyke – Bass


After listening to ADRENECHROME for the first time last night, I let it set in my head over night to get the full weight of what they were doing on this CD. Upon a second listening, noticed lots of things that I missed the first time. The first thing you notice are the classic thrash elements that the band brings to the table. There’s a definite old school thrash feel here. Listen further though and you will also hear plenty of doom and stoner metal elements throughtout as well.

ADRENECHROME are a highly skilled and technically proficient band musically. The songs rage with great breakdowns yet are also layered with lots of crunch and have some tasty, jazz influenced solos throughout. The only thing that strikes me as a weakness here is that the vocals do not always work in places. Not to to take anything from the vocalist, he more than carries the record overall.

Overall, this is a great set of tunes that will go a longways towards establishing ADRENECHROME as a name to remember in the future. I highly recommend picking up a copy of “Hideous Appetites” and giving your speakers the workout they so rightfully deserve.




Black Veil Brides – Wretched and Divine: The Story of The Wild Ones CD Review

Black Veil Brides – Wretched and Divine: The Story of The Wild Ones CD Review

Black Veil Brides get the honor of being the first official CD review of the year for Auditory Slam. I was passed a review copy of the new CD so as to write a review of the new material.

I first became aware of this band when they released Set the World on Fire. I then went back and listened to their previous material. One thing that became very obvious was that this was a band that was getting better with each release. You could hear the maturation in their sound and style.

So, how does Wretched and Divine stack up? Pretty damn well, in my personal opinion.

The dynamics of this CD are incredible. It’s a perfect balance of old school 80’s inspired glam rock mixed with lots of modern rock production and flare a la Avenged Sevenfold. Singer Andy Biersack sounds incredible here whether it’s on the faster, heavier tunes or the more laid back cuts.

I Am Bulletproof, Wretched and Divine, and Nobody’s Hero rock with abandon. Done For You and Lost It All have a more emotional, stripped back feel. The guitars are sharp, the songs are filled with giant hooks, and the overall production quality is flawless. I particularly love the guitars on this. The solos just cook.  The drumming is also exceptionally good.

CONCLUSION: Black Veil Brides are the band that Motley Crue wishes they could STILL be.  If you’re looking for a band that’s going to lead the charge into the next generation, look no further. These guys are the real deal. Now, turn this on, turn this up, and ROCK OUT!

SCORE: 10 out of 10

STANDOUT TRACKS: I am Bulletproof, We Don’t Belong, Nobody’s Hero, In The End


Wretched and Divine_ The Story of the Wild Ones